top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsey Daggett

Why Ink Master is Guilty Pleasure Gold

Like most kids that grew up in the 2000s, I've perfected the craft of binge watching reality shows. From American Idol, to Flavor of Love, to I Love New York, to Rock of Love, to Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, my reality television taste is all across the board. Now that I'm 25 and addicted to tattoos, I discovered a world that combines my love of ink and reality tv. Ink Master. It's a great show, a guilty pleasure, an underrated one at that. It has overwhelming negative reviews on IMDB and conspiracy theorists picking it apart, calling it fake. Fake or not, Ink Master has binge worthy reality television down to a science. Allow me to explain:


1. The tattoos are pretty amazing. Whether or not you like tattoo competitions, the tattoos are damn near magical




I could ramble with this. So many amazing pieces in the 11 seasons.


2. The finale tattoos are well worth the anticipation




Does it matter who wins with works of art like these? Absolutely beautiful creations we see live on stage.


3. And the bad tattoos are REALLY bad




4. The show is quotable as (censor bleep)








5. Even the insults/comeback burn worse than the tattoos




6. And it has its moments of hitting you right in the feels

This is why I love tattoos *ugly cries*


7. If you love drama, the spin-off Ink Master Redemption will give you an overdose of reality tv drama and some fantastic tattoos. Dave Navarro is Dr. Phil and Jerry Springer all in one




8. And the other spin-off, Ink Master Angels, uses tattoos to help others while finding competitors for future seasons of Ink Master


This face off includes victims of the Oklahoma City Bombing (full episodes available on Paramount and other websites):

At the end of the day, tattoos are amazing pieces of art. Ink Master has helped me love my ink even more. Enjoy this Buzzfeed video made to promote Ink Master, the video that led me to this guilty pleasure:)



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page